Project Areas

SEED project focused area is Gilgit, Baltistan.

Gilgit-Baltistan is divided into two divisions–The Baltistan Division and The Gilgit Division–which together comprise seven districts.

Baltistan Region

The Baltistan Division consists of two districts:

Skardu District – Skardu town is the administrative center of the Skardu District. Askole is the last settlement in the district for all treks to Concordia (the confluence of the Baltoro Glacier and the Godwin-Austen Glacier). Skardu is the district where the Indus River enters Gilgit-Baltistan from the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir.

Ghanche District – The Ghanche District is the easternmost district of Baltistan. To its east is the Leh District of Ladakh, northeast is Aksai Chin, (China), to the north and northwest is the Skardu District, to the west is the Astore District, and to the south is the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir. The administrative center of the Ghanche District is Khaplu. The Hushe valleys form the gateway to the great Baltoro Muztagh, the sub-range of the Karakoram.










View Larger Map

Gilgit Division
The Gilgit Division now consists of five districts:
Astore District – The Astore District was recently carved out of the Diamir District. Previously, Gilgit-Baltistan was divided into five districts. The administrative center of the Astore District is Astore town, and it includes many villages in the Astore valley. The Astore District is bounded by the Diamir District to the west and the Skardu District to the east.

Ghizar District – The Ghizar District is the westernmost district of Gilgit-Baltistan. It is bound by Pakistan’s Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province on three sides (north, west, and south), by the Diamir District to the south and southeast, and by the Gilgit District to the east. A small strip of Ghizar District (roughly 35 x 12 km) is sandwiched between the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province and the Wakhan Corridor of Afghanistan. Gakuch is the administrative center of the Ghizar District.

Gilgit District – The Gilgit District is bounded by the Wakhan Corridor of Afghanistan to the north, the Xinjiang autonomous region of China to the north and northeast, and the Skardu District to the south and southeast. Gilgit town is the administrative center of the Gilgit District. Gilgit is one of the two major hubs for all mountaineering expeditions to the peaks of the Karakoram and the Himalayas.

Hunza-Nagar District – The Hunza-Nagar District is a newly formed district which was previously part of the Gilgit District. The district encompasses the Hunza and Nagar valleys. The major town is Karimabad (actually a grouping of five to six smaller villages), surrounded on all sides by glorious mountain peaks, the foremost among which is Rakaposhi. The Nagar Valley and the Hoper Glacier are situated a dizzying 40-minute drive from Karimabad, nestled below Golden Peak.

Leave a Comment